College of Nursing Alumni Society Awards

We invite you to nominate a colleague for one of the following awards to be presented at The Ohio State University College of Nursing recognition ceremony during Homecoming weekend in the fall.

  • Nomination period is open April 1 to June 1, 2019.
  • Current members of the Alumni Society Board of Governors are not eligible for these awards. Previous recipients are not eligible for the same award.
  • Nominations can be completed online at starting April 1, 2019.

Supporting documentation is to be attached to the nomination form and includes:

  • Nominating statement limited to three, single spaced pages.
  • Letters of support, limited to three.
  • Current curriculum vitae or resume.


Distinguished Recent Alumni Award

The Distinguished Recent Alumni Award is given to an Ohio State University (OSU) College of Nursing alumnus who has graduated within the past 10 years. This Award is in honor and appreciation of accomplishments that exemplify outstanding early career achievement in at least one of the following areas of Nursing: practice excellence, education, administration, evidence-based practice, research or commendable public service.

Community Service Award

The Community Service Award is presented to an Ohio State College of Nursing graduate in honor of the significant contributions of time, actions, talents and dedication made to improve the health of the community (local, regional, national or global). The Awardee promotes the health of the community through sustained professional and/or volunteer work. The recipient serves as a model for compassion and service to others.

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given to an Ohio State College of Nursing graduate in recognition of and appreciation for exceptional achievement over their career. The recipient of this award exemplifies the mission and vision of the College of Nursing while providing inspiration for current students, faculty and alumni. Professional areas for consideration include one or more of the following: practice excellence, education, administration, professional writing, evidence-based practice, research or public service.

Mildred E. Newton Distinguished Educator Award

The Mildred E. Newton Distinguished Educator Award honors an Ohio State College of Nursing graduate who has served, or is currently serving, as an educator or dean of a nationally accredited college/school of nursing. The Awardee’s personal integrity, leadership, commitment to nursing education and advancement of nursing science has contributed significantly to the advancement of the nursing profession and the preparation of the next generation of nurses. The following exemplars will be considered: teaching, evidence-based practice, research, publication, leadership in the professional communities at the state, national or global levels, or public service.