McCarthy receives 2013 MNRS Senior Scientist Award

Columbus, OH (March 13, 2013)—At their annual conference on March 7-10, 2013, The Midwest Nursing Research Society (MNRS) recognized Donna McCarthy, PhD, RN, FAAN, associate dean for research and Mildred E. Newton Professor of Nursing, as a 2013 Senior Scientist.

McCarthy photoMcCarthy was lauded for her extensive research on the biology of sickness symptoms. She is the principal investigator of an interdisciplinary team that recently received a five-year, $2.2 million grant from the National Institutes of Health to investigate fatigue in cancer patients, one of the most commonly reported symptoms among this population. Her study investigates the role of cytokines, depression, and muscle wasting  as  primary factors associated with cancer-related fatigue. 

Professional service to promote nursing research and mentorship of early stage researchers has held a prominent place in McCarthy’s career. She is on the editorial boards of the Biological Research for Nursing and Western Journal of Nursing Research journals and has served on the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science education steering committee and the board of the MNRS. She was awarded the Distinguished Undergraduate Research Mentor Award from The Ohio State University Office of Undergraduate Research, and has been a consultant and evaluator for the Higher Learning Commission.

The Midwest Nursing Research Society (MNRS) Senior Scientist Recognition Program provides recognition by peers for members’ scholarly achievements, mentorship, and service and represents the highest class of membership. Every year, the Midwest Nursing Research Society presents awards to selected members of the Society who have made significant and notable contributions to the field of nursing through research.

Past Senior Scientist award recipients from the College of Nursing include Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FNAP, FAAN, current dean of the College of Nursing, in 2012, Pamela J. Salsberry, PhD, RN, in 2011, and Karen Ahijevych, PhD, RN, FAAN, in 2009.