Melnyk receives 2012 MNRS Senior Scientist award

With less than seven months’ tenure at The Ohio State University, Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FNAP, FAAN, associate vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer, and dean of the College of Nursing, was recognized as a 2012 Senior Scientist by the Midwest Nursing Research Society at their annual conference.

The Midwest Nursing Research Society (MNRS) Senior Scientist Recognition Program provides recognition by peers for members’ scholarly achievements, mentorship, and service and represents the highest class of membership. Every year, the Midwest Nursing Research Society presents awards to selected members of the Society who have made significant and notable contributions to the field of nursing through research.

Melnyk was chosen for her accomplishments as an internationally recognized expert in intervention research, evidence-based practice, and child and adolescent mental health. She is a frequent keynote speaker at national and international conferences on these topics and has consulted with hundreds of healthcare systems and colleges throughout the nation and globe on how to improve quality of care and patient outcomes through sustaining evidence-based practice.

Her record includes over 11 million dollars of sponsored funding from federal agencies as principal investigator and more than 180 publications. Melnyk is editor of four books, including the well-known Evidence-based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare and a new book entitled Intervention Research: Designing, Conducting, Analyzing and Funding.

Melnyk is an elected fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the National Academies of Practice. She recently served a four-year term on the United States Preventive Services Task Force. In 2011, she received the inaugural NIH/NINR Director’s Lectureship Award and was inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International’s Research Hall of Fame. She has twice been recognized as an Edge Runner by the American Academy of Nursing, most recently for her COPE Program for parents of premature infants.

Past Senior Scientist award recipients from the College of Nursing include Pamela J. Salsberry, PhD, RN in 2011 and Karen Ahijevych, PhD, RN, FAAN, in 2009.