Giurgescu, Jones and Tubbs Cooley to be American Academy of Nursing Fellows


The American Academy of Nursing (AAN) has selected three The Ohio State University College of Nursing faculty members, Carmen Giurgescu, PhD, RN, WHNP; Carolynn Thomas Jones, DNP, RN, MSPH; and Heather Tubbs Cooley, PhD, RN, to be inducted into its 2018 class of Academy Fellows.


The inductees will be honored at a ceremony being held during the AAN's annual policy conference, “Transforming Health, Driving Policy,” November 1-3, 2018, in Washington, D.C.


“I am delighted to recognize this outstanding class of nurse leaders as Academy Fellows,” said Academy President Karen Fox, PhD, RN, FAAN. “Along with the rest of the fellowship, I look forward to celebrating their array of talents and impressive accomplishments at our policy conference, and then working with them to apply our collective knowledge to transforming health policy.”


Giurgescu, Jones and Tubbs Cooley will be inducted as Academy Fellows along with 192 other highly distinguished nurse leaders. With the addition of this new class, the total number of Academy Fellows stands at over 2,500.


“Selection into the Academy is one of nursing’s very highest honors; less than .1 percent of nurses make it into the Academy,” said Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN, vice president for health promotion, university chief wellness officer and dean of the College of Nursing, in praise of the college’s new inductees. She added that with 27 Fellows now at the College of Nursing, “nearly 50 percent of our tenured/tenure track and regular clinical faculty are Fellows of the AAN.”

Representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia and 29 countries, Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing are nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy and research. AAN Fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans and renowned scientific researchers.


Fellow selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and healthcare and sponsorship by two current AAN Fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed Fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee's nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and well-being of all.


The 2018 Class of Academy Fellows from Ohio includes:


Celeste Marie Alfes, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CHSE-A - Case Western Reserve University


Carmen Giurgescu, PhD, RN, WHNP – The Ohio State University


Carolynn Thomas Jones, DNP, RN, MSPH – The Ohio State University


Deborah G. Klein, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CCRN, FAHA - Cleveland Clinic


Deborah F. Lindell, DNP, MDN, RN, CNE, ANEF - Case Western Reserve University


Polly Mazanec, PhD, ACNP-BC, AOCN, ACHPN, FPCN - Case Western Reserve University


Mary Elizabeth Modic, DNP, APRN-CNS - Cleveland Clinic


Sharon L. Oetker-Black, PhD, JD, RN, ANEF - Walsh University


Heather Tubbs Cooley, PhD, RN – The Ohio State University


Allison R. Webel, PhD, RN - Case Western Reserve University


Thu Jul 5, 2018