College of Nursing representatives honored during March of Dimes Nurse Awards

Columbus, OH (November 5, 2013) - Faculty and a student from The Ohio State University College of Nursing were among this year’s winners at the first annual March of Dimes Ohio Chapter Nurse of the Year Awards. The finalists were honored at a formal evening gala on Saturday, November 2, at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel.

This year's theme, Celebrate the Caring Spirit, paid tribute to nurses throughout Ohio who continue to deliver the highest standard of care to their patients.

The Ohio State College of Nursing awardees included:

  • Sharon Ryan, DNP, assistant professor of clinical nursing, who won the Advanced Practice award
  • Erika Birt, student, who won the Nursing Student award

In addition, Kristie Flamm, MS, FNP-BC, ACNP, BC, director of the Ohio State Total Health & Wellness at University Hospital East, was a nominee in the Advanced Practice category and Randee Masciola, MS, clinical instructor, was a nominee in the Education category.

The First Annual Ohio Nurse of the Year Awards is a statewide event that recognizes exceptional nurses, creates awareness of professional excellence, and promotes the future of the nursing profession, all while helping to advance the mission of the March of Dimes: to promote the health of babies by preventing premature birth, birth defects, and infant mortality.

"We are proud to celebrate the noble nursing profession by acknowledging the contributions and talents of nurses throughout this great state!” said Tracy Davidson, 2013 gala chair and president of the United Healthcare Community Plan of Ohio.  “Your caring and compassion for individuals during the most vulnerable time in their lives does not go unnoticed.”

The Nurse of the Year selection committee reviewed hundreds of applications across 18 defined categories ranging from advanced practice to women’s health.